The Shield

Survival Reading

Back to Article
Back to Article

Survival Reading

Jennifer Venus, Staff Writer

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

One of the great challenges for educators is to convince young people about the importance of reading. Fortunately, author Suzanne Collins has written a three-part series to make this task a little easier.

The Hunger Games takes place in the make-believe world of Panem, after the fall of America. There are 12 districts. The heroine, Katniss Everdeen, is chosen for the yearly Hunger Games. The Hunger Games is when two people from each district, a boy and a girl, ages 12 – 18, are chosen to fight to the death. Katniss’ sister, Prim, was selected but Katniss took her place. The boy who was picked was named Peeta Malark. They enter the arena where Katniss meets a girl from District 11 named Rou. They team up, but do they survive? She participates in the 74th annual Hunger Games, right before the quarter quell, marking the anniversary of the Capitol’s victory over the district.  The Hunger Games is a reminder that the Capitol, or President Snow, is in charge.

This series is a trilogy and whoever likes adventure should definitely read them. Katniss Everdeen is a role model for many. She is brave, courageous, and fights for what she believes in. The other two books in the series are titled Catching Fire and Mockingjay. The series of books was almost made into four Hollywood movies that follow the adventures of Katniss Everdeen. This book series is phenomenal and captivating. Once you pick the books up you will never want to put them down. Reading this book will make you realize how fortunate we are today to not live under these conditions.

Leave a Comment

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar.